Winthrop University: Graduate School - Graduate Assistantships
Contact Information
Graduate School
211 Tillman Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
803/323-2204
800/411-7041 (tollfree)
803/323-2292 (fax)
gradschool@winthrop.edu

While Winthrop's campus is closed in compliance with state and national guidelines for COVID-19, our dedicated Admissions team is available to help you. To speak with someone from Admissions, please call 803-323-2191 between the hours of 9am-3pm (Monday-Friday) or email any questions to Admissions@winthrop.edu. The health and safety of our staff and students is of the utmost importance so we will do our best to be available for you as long as we can.

Also, please follow us on Instagram for further updates.

Graduate Assistant & Associate Positions

 
Please review the Graduate Assistant and Graduate Associate Position Guidelines (PDF - 123KB), which describes the general responsibilities of graduate assistants and associates. 

      To be approved for a Graduate Assistant/Associate position, the student must be fully or provisionally admitted to a graduate degree program. To retain a graduate position, the student must maintain academic eligibility and may not be on academic probation. 

      Note: Non-degree students may not hold graduate assistant or associate positions. Students enrolled for student teaching are ineligible to serve as a graduate assistant/associate that semester.
      Graduate Assistants will receive a stipend paid in equal installments via payroll and a tuition grant paid through the Financial Aid Office. The amount of stipend and tuition grant will be indicated on the hiring proposal form. 

      Graduate Associates are FLSA non-exempt employees and will receive an hourly wage. Graduate Associates must submit timesheets for the hours worked and will also receive a tuition grant paid through the Financial Aid Office. The hourly wage and tuition grant will be indicated on the hiring proposal form.

       

      Stipends are set at $3500/per semester for 20 hours/week of employment. The exact dollar amount of the tuition grant may vary by position.
      • Contact the department/school/office you are interested in for any available positions and their application procedures.
      • You must be admitted to a graduate degree to be a graduate assistant; non-degree & unclassified students are ineligible.
      • Be in good standing in a degree-seeking program
      • Apply through https://winthrop.peopleadmin.com/
      Graduate Assistants/Associates must be registered for at least 9 credit hours of course work per semester. Graduate students in their final semester, who have less than 9 hours of coursework remaining to meet degree requirements, may be granted permission to enroll in less than 9 credit hours at the discretion of the Dean of the Graduate School. This may result in a decrease in the amount of the tuition grant.
      Once the necessary paperwork has been submitted to the Graduate School Office by your department, Student Financial Services will be notified of your assistantship. Your account will then be credited for the amount which is covered by your tuition grant. Please be sure you pay the fees and any other charges not covered by your grant.
      Graduate assistant/associate positions can work up to 20 hours per week, as determined by graduate position and the hiring department. Any additional on-campus employment must be preapproved by The Graduate School office.
      By accepting a Graduate Assistant/Associate position, the student understands the importance of this position and affirms their intent not to pursue other positions on campus. Students cannot hold more than one GA position in a semester.
      It is your responsibility to drop your schedule. Please also understand that you are still responsible for any fees that may remain as a result of your withdrawal from classes.

 

Use the drop-downs below to see the list of graduate assistant and associate positions across campus.  Pay special attention to each position's availability and restrictions. 

 Note: These deadlines vary between programs and positions available due to application and admission dates. Check with your area of interest for more details.

 

    Department Position Total #
    and Type
     
     Availability    Restrictions   Supervisor/Contact
    Writing Center Tutor  Assistant (4) Spring 2020 (1)            Fall 2020 (3) Must complete Writing 500 Dr. Dustin Hoffman hoffmandm@winthrop.edu
    Biology Lab Assistant Assistant (5) Fall 2020 (1)  Fall 2021 (3) MS Biology Students only Dr. Kristi Westover westoverk@winthrop.edu
    Biology BIOL 204 Academic Assistant Assistant (1) Fall 2021 MS Biology Students only Dr. Kristi Westover  westoverk@winthrop.edu
    Student Services Office Assistant   Associate (2) Fall 2020 (1) Fall 2021 (1)  --- Dr. Adria Belk belkal@winthrop.edu
    Dean's Office Assessment Assistant Assistant (1) Fall 2020  --- Dr. Greg Oakes  oakesm@winthrop.edu
    Human Nutrition Lab Assistant Assistant (3) Fall 2020 (3)  MS Nutrition Students only--Must have completed NUTR 231/232--Strong consideration given to availability to assist with scheduled laboratory courses Dr. Wanda Koszewski  koszewskiw@winthrop.edu
    Mathematics Math Tutor Assistant (1) Fall 2020  --- Dr. Thomas Polaski            polaskit@winthrop.edu
    School Psychology Testing and Assessment Assistant (3) Fall 2020       First Year School Psychology students only Dr. Gary Alderman aldermang@winthrop.edu
    School Psychology Head Start Assistant (2) Fall 2020 First Year School Psychology students only Dr. Gary Alderman aldermang@winthrop.edu
    School Psychology Traineeship  Assistant (11) Fall 2020 Second Year School Psychology students only   Dr. Gary Alderman aldermang@winthrop.edu
    School Psychology Internship  Assistant (11) Fall 2020 (11) Third Year Psychology students only Dr. Gary Alderman aldermang@winthrop.edu
    Social Work MSW Program Associate Associate (1) Fall 2020 MSW Students only Administrative Office socialwork@winthrop.edu
    Social Work MSW Admissions Associate Associate (1) Summer 2020 MSW Students only  Administrative Office socialwork@winthrop.edu
    Social Work Field Program Associate (1) Fall 2021  --- Administrative Office socialwork@winthrop.edu
    Social Work BSW Program Associate (1) Fall 2021 MSW Students only Administrative Office socialwork@winthrop.edu
    Social Work Assessment Associate (1) Fall 2020 MSW Students only Administrative Office socialwork@winthrop.edu
    Department Position Total #
    and Type
    Availability Restrictions Supervisor/Contact
    MBA Office MBA Admissions and Advising Assistant Assistant (2) Fall 2020 (2)
    Must have work experience Vanessa Valdez
    valdezv@winthrop.edu 

    CBA Office Student Services Assistant Assistant (2)  Fall 2020 (2) Prefer Winthrop undergraduate experience Vanessa Valdez
    valdezv@winthrop.edu 

    CBA Office
    External Relations Assistant    
        
    Assistant (1)  Filled
     --- Vanessa Valdez
    valdezv@winthrop.edu
    Various Departments  Instructional & Research Assistant
     
    Assistant (3)
        
    Filled

      --- Vanessa Valdez
    valdezv@winthrop.edu 
    Small Business Office  Small Business Consultant Assistants (4)  Filled

     
     --- Todd Phillips  phillipsto@winthrop.edu 
    Department Position Total #
    and Type
    Availability Restrictions Supervisor/Contact
    Macfeat School Macfeat Teaching Assistant Assistants (5)  Fall 2020 (4) Must have teaching certification in early childhood, elementary or special education Dr. Erin Hamel
    hamele@winthrop.edu
    Instructional Technology Center ITC Associate Associates (2)   Fall 2020 (1)      Filled (1) --- Shaniqua Corley-Moore
    corleymoores@winthrop.edu


    Instructional Technology Center  Technology Support Assistant Assistants (2)  Fall 2020 --- Shaniqua Corley-Moore
    corleymoores@winthrop.edu
    COE Graduate Studies Graduate Studies Associate Associate (1)  Filled  --- Dr. Shawna Helf
    helfs@winthrop.edu
    Teaching Fellows Teaching Fellow's Associate Associate (1) Filled
     --- Dr. Sherell Fuller
    fullers@winthrop.edu
    COE Dean's Office Accreditation and Assessment Associate Associate (1) Filled
     --- Dr. Beth Costner
    costnerb@winthrop.edu
    Student Academic Services Student Academic  Services Associate Associate (1) Filled  --- Joanna Harris  harrisjp@winthrop.edu
    Counseling, Leadership, and Educational Studies Counseling Clinic Assistant Assistant (1) Filled  --- Dr. Jennifer Jordan
    jordanje@winthrop.edu
    Counseling, Leadership, and Educational Studies
    Research/Instructional Support Assistant
    Assistant (3)
    Filled  --- Dr. Patricia Arter  arterp@winthrop.edu
    Physical Education, Sport, and Human Performance Basic Instruction/ Faculty Support Assistant  Assistant (6) Filled  --- Dr. Kristi Schoepfer
    schoepferk@winthrop.edu
     
     
    Physical Education, Sport, and Human Performance Research/Project Management Assistant Assistant (1) Filled  --- Dr. Kristi Schoepfer
    schoepferk@winthrop.edu
    Physical Education, Sport, and Human Performance Athletic Training Associate  Associate (1) Filled  --- Dr. Kristi Schoepfer
    schoepferk@winthrop.edu
    Curriculum and Pedagogy Research/Instructional Support Assistant Assistant (2) Filled  --- Dr. Kavin Ming
    mingk@winthrop.edu
    Education Core Research/Instructional Support Assistant Assistant (2)
    Filled

     --- Dr. Lisa Johnson  johnsonle@winthrop.edu
    Department Position Total #
    and Type
    Availability Restrictions Supervisor/Contact
    CVPA Dean's Office           Winthrop Galleries Assistant (1) Fall 2020 MAAA students are preferred Karen Derksen  derksenk@winthrop.edu 
    Music Accompanist Assistant (1) Filled      Must be a music student
    Lori Crochet
    crochetl@winthrop.edu 
    Music
    Choral Music Assistant Assistant (1) Filled Must be a music student Jeffrey Mims
    mimsj@winthrop.edu 
    Music Music Theory Assistant (1)  Filled 
    Must be a music student Tomoko Deguchi
    deguchit@winthrop.edu 
    Music Percussion Assistant Assistant (1)  Filled Must be a music student
    Donna Guerra  guerrad@winthrop.edu 
    Fine Arts Creator Space Assistant Assistant (2) Filled Must be a Fine Arts Student  Department Chair, 
    Fine Arts 
    finearts@winthrop.edu

    Fine Arts Fine Arts Assistant  Assistant (1)  Filled Must be a Fine Arts Student  Department Chair, 
    Fine Arts
      finearts@winthrop.edu
    Fine Arts Assistant to Lab Technician  Assistant (1) Filled  Must be a Fine Arts Student Department Chair, 
    Fine Arts 
    finearts@winthrop.edu
    Department Position Total #
    and Type
    Availability Restrictions Supervisor/Contact
    International Center Study Abroad Associate (1) Filled   --- Lindsey Hill  hill@winthrop.edu
    International Center Student Services Associate (1) Filled  --- Lindsey Hill
    hilll@winthrop.edu
    Study Abroad Program Assistant Associate (1) Filled  --- Leigh Poole
    poolela@winthrop.edu
    ONCA
         
    Program Assistant Associate (1) Filled  --- Gloria Jones
    jonesg@winthrop.edu
    McNair Program Assistant Associate (1) Filled  --- Cheryl Fortner-Wood
    fortnerc@winthrop.edu
    TRiO  Academic Counselor Assistant (2) Filled Counseling and Development Program preferred
    Rose Gray
    grayr@winthrop.edu
    Position Total # and Type Availability Restrictions Supervisor/Contact
    Roddey Resident Director Associate (1) Filled   --- Dee Wells
    wellsd@winthrop.edu
    Business Operations Associate (1) Filled   --- Dee Wells
    wellsd@winthrop.edu
    Health Services Case Manager Associate (1) Filled   --- Jackie Concodora
    concodoraj@winthrop.edu
    Health Services Operations Associate (1) Filled  --- Nicole Ford
    fordn@winthrop.edu
    Intramural and Club Sports Associate (2) Both Filled
     --- Cameron Edwards
    edwardslc@winthrop.edu
    Fitness and Aquatics Associate (1)  
    Filled
    (Anticipated Opening
    Fall 2020)
     --- Laura Davis
    davislh@winthrop.edu
    Facilities Operation Associate (1) Filled  --- Grant Scurry
    scurry@winthrop.edu 
    Civic Engagement Associate (1) Filled
     --- Megan Baggarly
    baggarlym@winthrop.edu
    Career Services Operations Associate (1) Filled  --- Tom Injaychock
    injaychockt@winthrop.edu
    Student Publications Associate  (1) Filled
     
     ---  
    Fraternity & Sorority Affairs
    Associates  (2)  
    Both Open (Fall 2020 start)
     --- Naeema Stennett
    stennettn@winthrop.edu 
    Student Organizations/
    Leadership
     
    Associate (1) Open (Fall 2020 start)
     --- Alicia Marstall
    marstalla@winthrop.edu
    DiGS Facility Operation Associate (1) Filled
    ---  Billy Dahlgren
    dahlgrenb@winthrop.edu
    Student Activities Board (DSU) Assistant
    Associate (1) Filled
    ---  Angelo Geter
    getera@winthrop.edu
    Multicultural Student Life Associate (1) Filled   
    ---  Kinyata Brown
    brownka@winthrop.edu
    New Student & Family Programs Associate (1) Filled

    ---  Callie Smith
    smithcl@winthrop.edu
    Department Position  Total #
    and Type
    Availability Restrictions Supervisor/Contact
    Athletic Training Athletic Training Assistant (4) Filled Must be a certified athletic trainer Seth Faulkner faulkners@winthrop.edu 

    Track Track/CC Coach Assistant Associate (1) Available NOW

     --- Bobby Schreiner
    schreinerb@winthrop.edu 
    Women's Basketball
         
    Coaching Assistant Associate (1) Fall 2020
    ---  Lynette Woodard
    woodardl@winthrop.edu 
    Men's Basketball Coaching Assistant Associate (1) Fall 2021 ---  Zach Freesman
    freesmanz@winthrop.edu 
    Women's Tennis  Coaching Assistant 1 Associate (1) Fall 2021 ---  Vivian Segnini
    segniniv@winthrop.edu 
    Men's Tennis Coaching Assistant 1 Associate (1) Fall 2021 ---  John Collins
    collinsj@winthrop.edu 
    Women's Lacrosse Coaching Assistant Associate (1) Fall 2021 ---  Julika Blankenship  blankenshipj@winthrop.edu 

    Marketing Department Marketing and Promotions 1 Associate (1) Fall 2021 ---  Brett Redden
    reddenb@winthrop.edu 
    Media Relations Media Relations Assistant 1 Associate (1) Fall 2020
    ---  Brett Redden
    reddenb@winthrop.edu 

    Eagle Club Donor Relations Assistant Associate (1) Fall 2020 ---  Erin Harwood
    harwoode@winthrop.edu 
    Strength & Conditioning Graduate Associate Associate (1) Fall 2020  CPR certification required & CSCS or CSCCA certification required Benjamin Abbott
    abbottb@winthrop.edu 


For all open positions, visit https://winthrop.peopleadmin.com/ and choose the "Student" button on the far right. This will show all of the publicly posted open positions for which students may apply. All GA positions will be designated with either "Graduate Assistant" or "Graduate Associate" in the title. This system will the completion of one application for multiple positions. If you have any questions concerning a specific position, we recommend contacting the hiring supervisor indicated in the listing by division.  


FORMS:
     3-Payment Plan for Graduate Assistants and Associates (PDF - 146 KB)
     Supervisor Guidelines for Graduate Associate and Assistantships (PDF - 106 KB)
     Graduate Assistant/Associate Position Guidelines (PDF - 123 KB)
     

Last Updated: 3/30/20